Digital nomad visa · Asia
Philippines digital nomad visa 2026: requirements and cost
Executive Order 86 (April 2025) created a one-year, renewable Digital Nomad Visa for remote workers paid from abroad, issued by Philippine consulates to nationals of countries that offer nomad visas to Filipinos. No income threshold or fee is published yet and the e-visa portal omits it, so ask your consulate; visa-free nationals can stay 30 days and extend at the Bureau of Immigration.
Official name: Digital Nomad Visa (DNV), Executive Order No. 86, s. 2025. Facts updated 2026-10-13 · Not yet reviewed by a person · Dataset 2026.10.7.
Not yet reviewed by a person
Compiled from the official pages listed below, last read on 2026-10-13. A named person has not yet re-checked it; treat it as a starting point and confirm with the source before you apply.
Who can apply
Nationals aged 18 or over of a country that offers a digital nomad visa to Filipinos and where the Philippines has an embassy or consulate (nationals of qualifying countries without a Philippine post apply at the nearest one). You must work remotely with digital technology for employers or clients outside the Philippines, show sufficient income earned abroad, a clean criminal record and health insurance for the whole visa period, pose no security risk and not take up employment in the Philippines. The DFA has not published the list of qualifying nationalities.
What you need
- Visa application form and passport-size photos
- Electronic or machine-readable passport valid for at least six months beyond the intended departure date
- Proof of remote work using digital technology: employment contract or employer letter, or service contracts and invoices for freelancers, with employers or clients outside the Philippines
- Proof of sufficient income generated outside the Philippines (bank statements, payslips or invoices); no official minimum has been published
- Police or criminal-record certificate from your country of nationality or residence
- Health insurance policy valid for the whole period of the visa
- Any further document the visa officer asks for; Philippine consulates may request extra evidence at their discretion
Income proof: EO 86 only requires proof of sufficient income generated outside the Philippines; the DFA has not published a figure on any page we could reach. The US$24,000-a-year threshold quoted by many commercial sites cannot be traced to an official source. Peso amounts in this guide are converted at US$1 = ₱62.79 (open exchange-rate feed, 2026-10-13).
Family: EO 86 is silent on family members and no dependant category has been published. Spouses and children need their own basis to stay: their own DNV if they qualify, visa-free entry with Bureau of Immigration extensions, or a 9(a) temporary visitor visa.
Cost and timeline
| Minimum income | no fixed minimum |
|---|---|
| Fee | not statedNot published. Philippine visa fees are set per consulate and quoted in local currency; the consulate will state the DNV fee when it accepts applications. For comparison, the Bureau of Immigration's first 29-day tourist extension costs ₱3,030 (about US$48). |
| Processing time | not statedNo official processing time for the DNV. The DFA's e-visa portal decides ordinary 9(a) visas in 7 to 12 working days (single entry) or 15 to 21 working days (multiple entry); the DNV is a consular visa with a Bureau of Immigration security clearance built in, so allow at least as long and a possible interview. |
| Stay | 1 year, renewable |
How to apply
At a consulate. The Philippine embassy or consulate (Foreign Service Post) for your country of nationality or legal residence; nationals of qualifying countries without a Philippine post use the nearest one. As of October 2026 the DNV is not among the visa types offered on the DFA's evisa.gov.ph portal.
- Check with the Philippine embassy or consulate for your country that it accepts DNV applications and that your nationality qualifies under the reciprocity rule (your country must offer a digital nomad visa to Filipinos).
- Gather proof of remote work (employment contract, employer letter or client contracts) with employers or clients established outside the Philippines, and bank statements or payslips showing sufficient income earned abroad.
- Obtain a police or criminal-record certificate from your home country and a health insurance policy that covers the whole period you are asking for.
- Submit the visa application form, passport valid for at least six months beyond the stay, photos and the supporting documents at the consulate, and pay the fee it quotes; the Bureau of Immigration runs a security check in coordination with the DFA.
- Collect the visa, travel to the Philippines, and keep meeting the conditions for the whole stay: the DFA can revoke a DNV for local employment, misrepresentation or breaches of immigration law. Apply to renew before the year ends, following the consulate's instructions.
After you arrive
Renewal: Up to one year per visa, with entry privileges during its validity. EO 86 says holders may renew for the same duration and leaves the renewal procedure to DFA guidelines, which do not appear on any official page we could reach; most summaries describe a single renewal (two years in total), but the order itself sets no cap.
Residence: The DNV is a non-immigrant visa issued under Section 47(a)(2) of the Philippine Immigration Act; time spent on it does not count toward permanent residence. Long-term routes are the 13(a) visa by marriage to a Filipino, the SRRV retiree visa run by the Philippine Retirement Authority, or a 9(g) pre-arranged employment visa.
Taxes
The Bureau of Internal Revenue states that aliens, whether resident or not, are taxed only on income from sources within the Philippines, at the same graduated rates as citizens (0% to 35%) for resident aliens and non-resident aliens engaged in trade or business, or 25% of gross Philippine-source income for non-resident aliens not engaged in trade or business. Whether pay for remote work physically performed in the Philippines counts as Philippine-source is one of the points the BIR was asked to settle in the EO 86 guidelines and no published rule exists yet, so keep your tax residence elsewhere and get advice. DNV holders may not take Philippine employment.
In practice
- The DNV is the legal framework, not yet a visible product: EO 86 told the DFA to issue guidelines within 30 days and pilot the programme within 60 days of April 2025, but the e-visa portal still lists only 9(a) visitor visas and no official page we could reach states a fee, income figure or application form. Ask the consulate before planning around it.
- The reciprocity rule has a catch: nationals of countries without a nomad visa of their own, which includes the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Singapore, do not appear to qualify under a strict reading of EO 86.
- The fallback used by most nomads is visa-free entry for 30 days (nationals listed under Executive Order 408), then a 29-day visa-waiver extension at any Bureau of Immigration office or online at e-services.immigration.gov.ph for ₱3,030 (about US$48), then further one- or two-month extensions; past 59 days you also pay for an ACR I-Card (US$50) and the fee rises to about ₱4,400 to ₱4,900 per extension.
- Philippine e-visas issued through evisa.gov.ph cannot be converted to another visa type or extended in the country; if you plan to extend or convert, get a regular visa sticker from the consulate instead.
- Overstaying costs ₱500 per month plus a motion for reconsideration; keep your Bureau of Immigration receipts and passport stamps.
- Cebu, Siargao, Dumaguete and Manila's Makati and BGC districts have the largest remote-work communities; fibre is good in the cities, patchy on the islands.
For your passport
Choose your passport in the ranker and the notes that apply to you move to the top.
- PT, ES, IT, DE, HR, EE, LV, GR, HU, MT, CY, CZ, RO:Your country runs a digital nomad visa that Filipinos can apply for and you enter the Philippines visa-free for 30 days, so you meet the reciprocity test on paper; apply for the DNV at the Philippine embassy or consulate in your country.
- US, GB, CA, AU, NZ, SG, CH, FR, NL, SE:Your country does not run a dedicated digital nomad visa, so on a strict reading of EO 86's reciprocity rule you do not qualify for the DNV. Use the 30-day visa-free entry and Bureau of Immigration extensions instead, and ask the consulate whether the guidelines have relaxed the rule.
- BR, AR, CO, CR, EC, UY, PA:Your country offers a nomad visa, so you appear eligible; apply at the Philippine embassy for your country (Brazilians enter visa-free for 59 days, the others for 30).
- TH, MY, ID, AE, GE, TR, ZA, KE, MU, NA, KZ, KG, AL, ME, MD, LK, BB:Your country runs a remote-work visa, so you likely pass the reciprocity test; confirm with the Philippine consulate that your nationality is on its list, since the DFA has not published one.
- IN, CN:Visa-free entry is only 14 days, non-extendible and non-convertible (30 days for Indians holding a valid US, Japanese, Australian, Canadian, Schengen, Singapore or UK visa). Neither country offers a nomad visa to Filipinos, so apply for a 9(a) visa at the consulate for longer stays.
- All other passports:Check two things with the nearest Philippine embassy or consulate: whether your country offers a digital nomad visa to Filipinos (the DNV's reciprocity test) and whether you enter visa-free for 30 days under Executive Order 408 or need a 9(a) visa first.
Cities in Philippines on Nostos
- ManilaBalanced score 55 · $1,025/month
- TagaytayBalanced score 54 · $1,150/month
- BaguioBalanced score 54 · $1,150/month
- MoalboalBalanced score 53 · $1,150/month
- DumagueteBalanced score 53 · $1,150/month
- CoronBalanced score 53 · $1,150/month
- El Nido (Palawan)Balanced score 53 · $1,150/month
- Puerto PrincesaBalanced score 52 · $1,150/month
- Davao CityBalanced score 52 · $1,178/month
- Iloilo CityBalanced score 52 · $1,150/month
- Angeles City (Clark)Balanced score 52 · $1,150/month
- Boracay (Malay)Balanced score 52 · $1,150/month
- Cebu CityBalanced score 51 · $1,150/month
- Panglao (Bohol)Balanced score 50 · $1,150/month
- BacolodBalanced score 49 · $1,150/month
- Cagayan de OroBalanced score 48 · $1,150/month
- Siargao (General Luna)Balanced score 47 · $1,150/month
Have you applied for this visa?
Does this guide match what you found?
Tell other nomads how it went.
Outcome, how long it took, what it cost and what the guide did not tell you. Your account appears here once a person has read it; your email never does.
Frequently asked
- Who can apply for the Philippines digital nomad visa?
- Nationals aged 18 or over of a country that offers a digital nomad visa to Filipinos and where the Philippines has an embassy or consulate (nationals of qualifying countries without a Philippine post apply at the nearest one). You must work remotely with digital technology for employers or clients outside the Philippines, show sufficient income earned abroad, a clean criminal record and health insurance for the whole visa period, pose no security risk and not take up employment in the Philippines. The DFA has not published the list of qualifying nationalities. Executive Order 86 (April 2025) created a one-year, renewable Digital Nomad Visa for remote workers paid from abroad, issued by Philippine consulates to nationals of countries that offer nomad visas to Filipinos. No income threshold or fee is published yet and the e-visa portal omits it, so ask your consulate; visa-free nationals can stay 30 days and extend at the Bureau of Immigration.
- How much income do you need for the Digital nomad visa (DNV)?
- EO 86 only requires proof of sufficient income generated outside the Philippines; the DFA has not published a figure on any page we could reach. The US$24,000-a-year threshold quoted by many commercial sites cannot be traced to an official source. Peso amounts in this guide are converted at US$1 = ₱62.79 (open exchange-rate feed, 2026-10-13).
- How much does the Digital nomad visa (DNV) cost and how long does it take?
- The fee is not stated; Not published. Philippine visa fees are set per consulate and quoted in local currency; the consulate will state the DNV fee when it accepts applications. For comparison, the Bureau of Immigration's first 29-day tourist extension costs ₱3,030 (about US$48). Processing time: not stated. No official processing time for the DNV. The DFA's e-visa portal decides ordinary 9(a) visas in 7 to 12 working days (single entry) or 15 to 21 working days (multiple entry); the DNV is a consular visa with a Bureau of Immigration security clearance built in, so allow at least as long and a possible interview.
- How long can you stay in Philippines on the Digital nomad visa (DNV), and can it be renewed?
- 1 year, renewable. Up to one year per visa, with entry privileges during its validity. EO 86 says holders may renew for the same duration and leaves the renewal procedure to DFA guidelines, which do not appear on any official page we could reach; most summaries describe a single renewal (two years in total), but the order itself sets no cap.
- Does the Digital nomad visa (DNV) lead to permanent residence in Philippines?
- Not by itself. The DNV is a non-immigrant visa issued under Section 47(a)(2) of the Philippine Immigration Act; time spent on it does not count toward permanent residence. Long-term routes are the 13(a) visa by marriage to a Filipino, the SRRV retiree visa run by the Philippine Retirement Authority, or a 9(g) pre-arranged employment visa.
- Can family members come with you on the Digital nomad visa (DNV)?
- EO 86 is silent on family members and no dependant category has been published. Spouses and children need their own basis to stay: their own DNV if they qualify, visa-free entry with Bureau of Immigration extensions, or a 9(a) temporary visitor visa.
- Do you pay tax in Philippines on the Digital nomad visa (DNV)?
- The Bureau of Internal Revenue states that aliens, whether resident or not, are taxed only on income from sources within the Philippines, at the same graduated rates as citizens (0% to 35%) for resident aliens and non-resident aliens engaged in trade or business, or 25% of gross Philippine-source income for non-resident aliens not engaged in trade or business. Whether pay for remote work physically performed in the Philippines counts as Philippine-source is one of the points the BIR was asked to settle in the EO 86 guidelines and no published rule exists yet, so keep your tax residence elsewhere and get advice. DNV holders may not take Philippine employment.
- Where do you apply for the Digital nomad visa (DNV)?
- At a consulate: The Philippine embassy or consulate (Foreign Service Post) for your country of nationality or legal residence; nationals of qualifying countries without a Philippine post use the nearest one. As of October 2026 the DNV is not among the visa types offered on the DFA's evisa.gov.ph portal.
- Is the Philippines digital nomad visa actually available yet?
- The legal basis exists: Executive Order 86 took effect in April 2025 and authorises the DFA to issue the visa through embassies and consulates. But as of October 2026 no official page we could reach publishes the fee, income threshold or application procedure, and the DFA's evisa.gov.ph portal lists only 9(a) visitor visas. Treat it as a consular visa in rollout and confirm availability with your Philippine consulate before relying on it.
- Can Americans or Britons get the Philippines digital nomad visa?
- On the face of EO 86, no: applicants must be nationals of a country that offers a digital nomad visa to Filipinos, and neither the United States nor the United Kingdom runs one. Both nationalities can still enter visa-free for 30 days and extend repeatedly at the Bureau of Immigration, which is how most remote workers stay today.
- How long can I stay in the Philippines without the nomad visa?
- Visa-free nationals under Executive Order 408 get 30 days on arrival, a first 29-day extension (₱3,030) and then further one- or two-month extensions at Bureau of Immigration offices or online; after 59 days you also need an ACR I-Card. Fees run to roughly ₱4,400 to ₱4,900 per extension and the Bureau caps the total length of a tourist stay, so check the current limit at the office.
Sources
- Visa Policy: types of Philippine visas and entry under Executive Order 408, Department of Foreign Affairs, Office of Consular Affairs (evisa.gov.ph) · retrieved 2026-10-13 · Lists only 9(a) visitor visas (no DNV), the 30-day visa-free list, 59 days for Brazil and Israel, and the 14-day rules for Indian and Chinese nationals
- Frequently Asked Questions on the Philippine e-Visa, Department of Foreign Affairs, Office of Consular Affairs (evisa.gov.ph) · retrieved 2026-10-13 · E-visa processing times of 7 to 12 and 15 to 21 working days; e-visas cannot be converted or extended
- Temporary Visitor (9A) Visa Waiver and Extension of Authorized Stay Beyond 59 Days, Bureau of Immigration · retrieved 2026-10-13 · ₱3,030 for the first 29-day extension, ₱4,400 to ₱4,900 per one- or two-month extension for adults, US$50 ACR I-Card, ₱500 per month overstay fine
- Tourist visa extension revenue increase by 24%, Bureau of Immigration · retrieved 2026-10-13 · Visa-free nationals get an initial 30 days and can extend at any BI office or online at e-services.immigration.gov.ph
- Income Tax: who are required to file and income tax rates, Bureau of Internal Revenue · retrieved 2026-10-13 · Aliens, resident or not, are taxed only on Philippine-source income; graduated 0% to 35% rates and the 25% rate for non-resident aliens not engaged in trade or business
Not yet reviewed by a person. Applied for this visa? Tell us what you found →