Digital nomad visa · Africa
Namibia digital nomad visa 2026: requirements and cost
Namibia's Digital Nomad Visa, launched on 11 October 2022, gives remote employees, freelancers and the self-employed a single six-month stay if they earn at least US$2,000 a month from outside Namibia. You apply through the investment board NIPDB, which forwards the file to the Ministry of Home Affairs; the N$3,300 fee is paid once the visa is approved.
Official name: Namibia Digital Nomad Visa. Facts updated 2026-10-04 · Not yet reviewed by a person · Dataset 2026.10.7.
Not yet reviewed by a person
Compiled from the official pages listed below, last read on 2026-10-04. A named person has not yet re-checked it; treat it as a starting point and confirm with the source before you apply.
Who can apply
Any nationality. You must work remotely for employers or clients based outside Namibia as an employee, freelancer or self-employed professional, earn at least US$2,000 a month, and hold a valid passport and international health and travel insurance.
What you need
- Completed visa application form 3-1/0033
- Medical certificate (form 3-1/0003) and radiological report (form 3-1/0004)
- Certified copy of a valid passport
- Proof of international medical and travel insurance for the stay
- Proof of income: payslip or employment contract, or client contracts for freelancers, showing at least US$2,000 a month
- Bank statements for the last six months
- Police clearance certificate from your home country (original or notarised copy, English translation if needed)
- Motivation letter from your employer, or a declaration of self-employment or of working for non-Namibian clients
- Copies of qualifications
- For dependants: marriage certificate and children's birth certificates
Income proof: Stated in US dollars by NIPDB and the Ministry. Shown with the last six months of bank statements and a payslip or employment contract (or client contracts for freelancers). The first rejections in 2023 were for applicants who could not evidence the US$2,000.
Family: A spouse and children can accompany you under the same application if you show an extra US$1,000 a month for the spouse and US$500 a month per child, with marriage and birth certificates. They receive the same six-month, non-renewable visa.
Cost and timeline
| Minimum income | $2,000/monthUS$2,000/month for the main applicant, plus US$1,000 for an accompanying spouse and US$500 per accompanying child |
|---|---|
| Fee | about $197N$3,300 is paid to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security after approval and before travel, either directly or through a local representative; NIPDB charges nothing for its motivation letter. Converted at about US$0.0598 per Namibian dollar on 2026-10-02 (the Namibian dollar is pegged one to one to the South African rand). |
| Processing time | not statedNo service standard is published. NIPDB screens the file and sends its motivation letter to the Ministry, which issues the visa; early applicants reported a few weeks. Apply before booking non-refundable travel. |
| Stay | 6 months, not renewable |
How to apply
Online. By email to the Namibia Investment Promotion and Development Board (NIPDB) in Windhoek, which submits the application and its motivation letter to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (MHAISS); the visa is collected on arrival or at a Namibian mission.
- Confirm you earn at least US$2,000 a month from outside Namibia (US$3,000 with a spouse, plus US$500 per child) and have international health and travel insurance for the stay.
- Complete the Ministry's visa application form 3-1/0033, and obtain a medical certificate (form 3-1/0003) and radiological report (form 3-1/0004) from a doctor.
- Collect the supporting documents: certified passport copy, six months of bank statements, proof of income, an employer motivation letter or proof of self-employment, qualifications, a police clearance certificate translated into English if needed, and marriage and birth certificates for dependants.
- Send the full file to NIPDB, which reviews it and forwards the application with its motivation letter to the Ministry of Home Affairs.
- On approval, pay the N$3,300 fee to the Ministry (directly or through a local representative), then book flights and accommodation and travel to Namibia within the visa's validity.
After you arrive
Renewal: Issued for a six-month stay. It is not renewable and no change of condition is allowed while on it; you may apply again only 12 months after the visa expires.
Residence: A six-month visa with no change of status does not lead to residence. Longer stays require an employment permit or another permit category from the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, applied for separately.
Taxes
Namibia taxes on a source basis: income earned for work performed in Namibia can be Namibian-source even if paid abroad, and residency is not the test. Most nomads on a six-month stay rely on their home-country tax residence and double-tax treaties where they exist; confirm with NamRA or an adviser if you stay the full six months or have Namibian clients.
In practice
- Because the visa cannot be extended or changed and a new one is only possible 12 months after expiry, plan for a single six-month stay; many nomads pair it with time in Cape Town or Johannesburg.
- Windhoek has reliable fibre and 4G, but connectivity in the desert and coastal lodges is patchy; a local MTC or Telecom Namibia SIM helps.
- The Ministry of Home Affairs' own site does not yet have a page for the visa; NIPDB is the practical front door and answers at info@nipdb.com.
- A rental car is close to essential outside the capital and is listed by NIPDB as a planning step; distances are long and fuel is sold in Namibian dollars (South African rand is also accepted).
For your passport
Choose your passport in the ranker and the notes that apply to you move to the top.
- EU, EEA, GB, US, CA, AU, NZ, JP:Eligible. These passports can also visit Namibia visa-free for up to 90 days, which lets you scout before committing to the six-month visa, but a tourist stay cannot be converted into it on the spot.
- ZA, BW, ZW, ZM, KE, NG, GH:Eligible on the same terms; African passport holders were among the first applicants. Check whether your passport needs a visa for the initial entry if you plan a scouting trip first.
- All other passports:Open to all nationalities; the income, insurance and police-clearance rules are the same. Non-English documents need a certified English translation.
Cities in Namibia on Nostos
- WindhoekBalanced score 59 · no data/month
- SwakopmundBalanced score 58 · no data/month
Have you applied for this visa?
Does this guide match what you found?
Tell other nomads how it went.
Outcome, how long it took, what it cost and what the guide did not tell you. Your account appears here once a person has read it; your email never does.
Frequently asked
- Who can apply for the Namibia digital nomad visa?
- Any nationality. You must work remotely for employers or clients based outside Namibia as an employee, freelancer or self-employed professional, earn at least US$2,000 a month, and hold a valid passport and international health and travel insurance. Namibia's Digital Nomad Visa, launched on 11 October 2022, gives remote employees, freelancers and the self-employed a single six-month stay if they earn at least US$2,000 a month from outside Namibia. You apply through the investment board NIPDB, which forwards the file to the Ministry of Home Affairs; the N$3,300 fee is paid once the visa is approved.
- How much income do you need for the Digital nomad visa?
- About $2,000 per month (US$2,000/month for the main applicant, plus US$1,000 for an accompanying spouse and US$500 per accompanying child). Stated in US dollars by NIPDB and the Ministry. Shown with the last six months of bank statements and a payslip or employment contract (or client contracts for freelancers). The first rejections in 2023 were for applicants who could not evidence the US$2,000.
- How much does the Digital nomad visa cost and how long does it take?
- The fee is about $197 (N$3,300 visa fee, payable on approval); N$3,300 is paid to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security after approval and before travel, either directly or through a local representative; NIPDB charges nothing for its motivation letter. Converted at about US$0.0598 per Namibian dollar on 2026-10-02 (the Namibian dollar is pegged one to one to the South African rand). Processing time: not stated. No service standard is published. NIPDB screens the file and sends its motivation letter to the Ministry, which issues the visa; early applicants reported a few weeks. Apply before booking non-refundable travel.
- How long can you stay in Namibia on the Digital nomad visa, and can it be renewed?
- 6 months, not renewable. Issued for a six-month stay. It is not renewable and no change of condition is allowed while on it; you may apply again only 12 months after the visa expires.
- Does the Digital nomad visa lead to permanent residence in Namibia?
- Not by itself. A six-month visa with no change of status does not lead to residence. Longer stays require an employment permit or another permit category from the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security, applied for separately.
- Can family members come with you on the Digital nomad visa?
- A spouse and children can accompany you under the same application if you show an extra US$1,000 a month for the spouse and US$500 a month per child, with marriage and birth certificates. They receive the same six-month, non-renewable visa.
- Do you pay tax in Namibia on the Digital nomad visa?
- Namibia taxes on a source basis: income earned for work performed in Namibia can be Namibian-source even if paid abroad, and residency is not the test. Most nomads on a six-month stay rely on their home-country tax residence and double-tax treaties where they exist; confirm with NamRA or an adviser if you stay the full six months or have Namibian clients.
- Where do you apply for the Digital nomad visa?
- Online: By email to the Namibia Investment Promotion and Development Board (NIPDB) in Windhoek, which submits the application and its motivation letter to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security (MHAISS); the visa is collected on arrival or at a Namibian mission.
- Can I extend the Namibia digital nomad visa or switch to another permit while in Namibia?
- No. The visa is non-renewable, no change of condition is allowed while you hold it, and you can only reapply 12 months after it expires. A longer stay means applying for a work or other permit from outside Namibia.
Sources
- Digital Nomad Visa, Namibia Investment Promotion and Development Board (nipdb.com) · retrieved 2026-10-04 · Eligibility, US$2,000 / US$1,000 / US$500 income rule, N$3,300 fee on approval, six-month non-renewable stay, 12-month wait to reapply, document list and process
- Namibia launches Digital Nomad Visa for remote workers, Namibia Investment Promotion and Development Board · retrieved 2026-10-04 · Launch on 11 October 2022 with the Ministry of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and Security; initial document list
- Namibia welcomes first digital nomads, Namibia Investment Promotion and Development Board · retrieved 2026-10-04 · First approvals in February 2023, six-month stay, rejections for not meeting the US$2,000 income requirement
Not yet reviewed by a person. Applied for this visa? Tell us what you found →